Feta Salad

Never one to care for excuses nor mundane explanations, I won’t share where I’ve been nor what the heck I’ve been doing while NOT posting on this blog.  I’m here now and that’s all that matters right? I’ll go about my business posting and you can go about your business reading.  So, let’s start off on a light refreshing note, like this Feta Salad.  If you have had a Greek Salad, this is along the lines of the real thing – save for a few important ingredients such as olives, green peppers and capers.  That’s why I decided to call my salad a “Feta salad” rather than “Greek Salad” – don’t want to insult anyone!  Zeus  might just decide to come down his little mountain and strike me down and who wants that?

My twist on this is that I like my salads on the acidic side so I added some white wine vinegar to give the salad that extra lift.  You could use fresh lemon juice too if that’s what you have on hand. Typically however, the tomato’s juices are what adds acidity to a traditional Greek salad.

You’ll need olive oil, white wine vinegar, red onion, cucumber, dry oregano and ripe, firm tomatoes.  Yeah, I know they are not in the pic but don’t worry, they’ll make their appearance later on…

Slice your red onion like so, and stick it the bowl you’ll be serving the salad in. Add the dry oregano…

Then the vinegar

And the olive oil…looks pretty good right now huh?

Stir it all together and let it sit as long as you can…it will be worth it because the sharp taste of the red onion mellows out quite a lot. In fact, if you are supremely organized, you could do this in the morning, stick the bowl in the fridge and finish it off just before dinner.

Dice your feta, tomatoes and make half moons from your cucumber.  I keep the ratio of these three ingredients pretty equal so that one does not overwhelm the other.

Give it a good toss and let it sit …this is one of those salads that gets better the longer it sits.  Besides, you want to give the feta a chance to absorb the oil and vinegar.  Notice I didn’t add salt – feta is pretty salty so taste your feta before you decide to add any salt or you will be sorry!

See all that oily mess at the bottom? It’s no mess I tell you…that’s the best part…it’s vinegoily goodness…did I just make up a word?  Yep, but you get it right? Anyway, get some crusty bread and use it to mop up the olive oil and eat like the gods intended!

IF you must have some lettuce you could add it…But so not necessary…

Recipe for: Feta Salad

Servings: 2-4 servings

Ingredients Directions
  • 1 Medium Red Onion
  • 1 Med Cucumber
  • 3 Med Tomatoes
  • 1/2 Ib Feta
  • 1 tbsp dry oregano
  • 1/4 cup Olive Oil 
  • 3 Tbsp White wine vinegar
  1. Thinly slice the onions and add to a bowl. Add the oregano, olive oil and white wine vinegar. Stir well and cover with plastic wrap and let sit for 1 hr-12 hours depending on how much time you have.
  2. About an hour from serving, add diced tomato, cucumber and mix well.  Then add your feta and mix gently so you don’t break it. Your aim is to coat the feta with the oil-vinegar-oregano mix.
  3. Serve alongside a main course, with bread, or stuff in pita bread.
3 Comments Add yours

  1. lisanusu says:

    My friend and i were just talking about Brown’s Cheese last night,must try this out soon.

    1. caughteating says:

      Hey girl! Brown’s Cheese is awesome! They have a wide variety of cheeses – I use them for my home and business.

Leave a Reply

