Decadent Chocolate Almond Cookies

It’s hump day and more importantly, we made it to February! Is it me or is time flying by?  It seems like I just celebrated the new year and here we are dashing into the second month of the year already.  For those of you who made resolutions, you better get on with it or another new year will find you still contemplating on things you should be doing.  I thought I would share something sweet with you today in the form of a cookie!   Stop and smell the roses…better yet, stop and savor the chocolate in these cookies!  I love dark chocolate so that is what I’ve used for these cookies but you can use any chocolate you have in your pantry, or a combination of dark, semi-sweet or milk!

This recipe is fast, fool-proof and easily adaptable.  The original recipe uses 2-1/2 cups of white and semi-sweet chocolate chips but I cut it down to 1 cup of dark chocolate and that was plenty!  I omitted white chocolate because I don’t want to have a relationship with a poser  – at least that’s what I think of white chocolate. You’re not really chocolate so I’m not a fan!  My dark chocolate chips are actually broken-off chunks  from a humongous 5 Ib chocolate bar I got at a specialty store in the mall.  Can you tell how much I love chocolate?  That huge bar is pulling double duty though because I use the same bar for baking and for making chocolate sauces/ganache as morsels are not available here.  It’s actually worked in my favor, not having morsels – because the chunks are hand cut, they tend to be bigger. Bigger means they keep their shape even after baking.  But, they are soft on the inside.  What’s better than biting  into a cookie and getting a chunk of gooey chocolate goodness?  Let me know when you find out…

I made my cookies really big and so I only got about 20 versus the original recipe which yields 52!  I’d have to use a very small spoon to get that many cookies.  I used a 45ml ice-cream scoop if you are interested.  Another change I made to the original recipe was the  salted butter.   I typically use unsalted so that I can control the amount of salt going into my recipes but salt fanatics argue that the salted butter makes for a more moist cookie? I don’t know, mine were pretty darn moist (like a brownie almost) and the edges were crisp so whose to say it makes a difference ? At any rate, using any butter will make anything palatable and these are rich and really good!

Get your ingredients ready.  Mix your flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt.  Chop your almonds.  Make sure your egg and butter are at room temperature. I always leave my butter out the night before I bake so that it is soft and yielding.

In your mixer, whip butter for 30 seconds then add regular and brown sugar

Cream your butter and sugars on medium-high for a couple of minutes until  fluffy. Add egg and vanilla and beat to incorporate

Add your flour and cocoa mixture and mix until just combined

It sure looks like dirt huh? it is a dense and dry cookie dough because there’s no liquid going in it. Don’t fret, the cookies will turn out great!

Add your chocolates and almonds…if you don’t like nuts you can substitute with dried fruits such as cherries or cranberries. Nothing substitutes the chocolate…nothing!

You’ll only need to mix the chocolates and nuts for a couple of seconds until combined.

Line your cookie sheet with parchment paper or silicone mat, drop your cookies two inches apart and bake those babies up

In  a very short while they will have your house smelling heavenly as they bake! They will be soft to the touch so be sure not to over bake them!

Mounds of perfection.  Watch them disappear out of your cookie jar…if they actually made it in there!

Recipe for: Decadent Chocolate Almond Cookies (via Food Network)

Servings: about 20-52 depending on the size you choose

Ingredients Directions
  • 2-1/3 cup AP Flour
  • 3/4 cup Cocoa Powder
  • 1 cup regular sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1-1/4 cup butter, softened
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup dark chocolate*
  • 1 cup almonds chopped

*or chocolate of choice

  1. Preheat your oven to 350F(190C) and line a sheet pan with parchment or baking paper. In a bowl combine flour, cocoa powder, baking soda and salt.
  2. In the bowl of your electric mixer, cream butter and sugars.  Add the egg and vanilla and mix together.  With the machine turned off, add your flour mixture all at once and mix until just combined
  3. Add the chocolates and almonds and mix until combined.  Using an ice-cream scoop, drop the dough on the sheet pan, about two inches apart. Bake for about 15 minutes. * I used a medium ice cream scoop  but you can use a small ice cream scoop and you will get more cookies!
  4. The cookies will be very soft when removed from the oven but they will firm up as they cool on the sheet pan. Once cooled, you can transfer the cookies to an airtight container.
Leave a Reply

