Mango Sorbet

On this side of the hemisphere, it is hotter than Hades.  It’s been sweltering hot  since December and finding ways to cool down have become my #1 priority.  If you are lucky to have a pool at your house good for you – go jump in the pool and cool off.  As for me, I have to find other ways to keep cool.  Ways that involve putting something in my mouth and having my brain momentarily gasp at the coolness of it all.   When a friend of mine gave me a whole basket of mangoes from her farm in Kibwezi, I knew exactly what I had to do.  Make Mango sorbet!

Mangoes, water, sugar, lime/lemon. Check, check, check and check! If you are asking what the other ingredients are, there are none.  That is it!  Sorbet is one of the easiest frozen desserts you could make and if you have kids, this is one they will enjoy! If you don’t have any fresh fruit, simply use a good quality packaged juice.  There is no reason you shouldn’t be trying this recipe out today.  Plus it has no fat… uh huh, a dessert with no fat is a dessert after my own heart.  Oh, but you say it has sugar and that’s equally bad? *Rolling Eyes* Yup, it does – because it’s a dessert… AND if I died today, I’d hate for my life to flash before my eyes, mocking me with all the desserts I could have eaten and didn’t because they had *shocker* SUGAR!

Ok, I know, getting preachy with the sugar.  Can you blame me? It’s January and people made those pesky…uhm…resolutions? To eat less fat, less sugar, more veggies, work out, yada yada yada.

My two cents: live your life in moderation and be happy! In the famous words of Mark Twain, “Part of the secret of success in life is to eat what you like and let the food fight it out inside”

First things first, make your simple syrup. That is equal parts water and sugar, heated in a saucepan and stirred together until the sugar dissolves.  Mine looks brown because I used raw sugar. If you used white (castor) sugar, the syrup will be clear.  Set aside to cool.

Peel your mangoes, discard the pit and dice. Juice your lemon. If using fresh mango you want to make sure that they are really ripe and choose a variety that is not stringy.  Now, I don’t want to alienate anyone but we need a moment of silence  for those of you who have never tasted an Apple Mango.  These mangoes are firm, sweet, juicy and oh-so-addictive.  Trust me, I’ve found myself many a time, sitting on the kitchen floor, juice dripping down my fingers with a mess of mango peels…Try one, it will change your life!

Add chopped mangoes, lemon juice and simple syrup to your blender or food processor to make a puree.  I made a lot of puree with all those mangoes so I had to make my sorbet in batches. This was the last batch!

Make sure you taste the puree before freezing so that you can adjust the sugar content. The freezing process reduces the sweetness of your finished product.   Wondering what that red stuff is?  For this last batch I decided to add some fresh strawberries that were left over from another recipe.  Totally optional!

Turn your ice-cream machine on and pour the mango puree into the freezer bowl and let it churn for about 30 minutes.

At about 15 minutes the mixture is starting to increase in volume and because I’m the restless type, I decided to add something else…see the red powder?

Yup! You know me, I like everything with a little kick!  I decided to add some Chili Powder and Peri-Peri Powder.  Not much mind you, just about two healthy pinches of each.  You’ll remember the chili powder from Mangoes with Chili recipe.  Same stuff! The peri-peri is a South African brand made from intensely HOT bird’s eye chili.

All done. Transfer to your airtight freezer containers and freeze for at least 2 hours

Drum roll please…let the cool-down process begin. Enjoy!

Notes:

  • If you don’t have an ice-cream machine, you can still make sorbet by placing the puree into a  container and into the freezer, stirring it a couple minutes every hour until you get the desired consistency
  • Homemade sorbet melts faster than store-bought so a neat trick is to chill your serving vessel until you are ready to eat
  • For adults, you can be a little naughty and splash some vodka or rum on top of the mounds of sorbet
  • For kids, top with strawberries, nuts or sprinkles
  • Substitute mango for any fruit you have in abundance – experiment with a single fruit or a mix!
  • If you are watching your sugar, you don’t have to use the entire cup of simple syrup, just add it to the blender slowly until you get the desired consistency.
Recipe for: Mango Sorbet 

Servings: 6

Ingredients Directions
  • 3 cups mango, diced
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup sugar
  • Juice of one lemon
  • 1/4 tsp chili powder*

*optional

  1. Combine sugar and water in a saucepan over medium heat until sugar dissolves.  Take off heat and cool completely.
  2. In a blender/food processor, combine diced mango, simple syrup and lemon juice and process until thick and smooth.
  3. Turn your ice-cream machine on and pour the puree through the spout and leave to mix, until thickened, about 25-30 minutes. *If using chili powder, add it toward the end of the churning process*
  4. Transfer the mango sorbet to an airtight container and place in freezer for about 2 hours or until firm! When ready to serve, take container out of the fridge and let it sit for a few minutes so that it softens up a little. Enjoy!
One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

